Finally a blog

Homeschooling memories of 2011

I’ve been thinking and thinking so for a while about blogging.  Today in homeschool, Izaac and I played the sounds hide and seek game, that we played so often before, but now with phonograms, that I remembered last year we actually did have many good moments in our homeschooling journey.

I’ve struggled to start this year, because of so many thoughts;-

– should I do full Montessori,
– should I have shelf work, or selected work on the table,
– should I do nature walks, more Charlotte Mason
– will I find the right path that matches and respects what my son will love to do.

Just stuck in a place of should-I’s, not wanting to repeat what felt like failure after failure last year.  Having expectations of what I thought would work, but didn’t.  There actually was lovely times and now I want to actively remember the good and the bad.  Be an honest blogger – as the journey of homeschooling can be so rewarding – I so love what I am doing – but it can be so hard too.  Hard in the sense of could they be doing better at a normal school, am I giving them the best option.  But Maria Montessori said to follow your child.  So I ask my son if he wants to be at home and for now, he says yes.  And this blog is called, DreambeforeYou – because God blessed me with opening my dreams before Him, laying them at His feet, when at the age of 32 the path of family I thought I had, crumbled and God had to rebuild from scratch.  The song, by Kate Miner, ‘DreambeforeYou’ was what I trusted in, for my dreams of a family, a loving, kind husband.  And he planted the seed of homeschooling in my heart and the marry the right man.  I just didn’t have the confidence to make that choice at first with my son, and maybe in the future it will change – but for now, this is me living my life, continually with my dreams before my Maker.

Leave a Reply - it might be moderated if you haven't commented before.

