Muriel Dwyer – Sentence strips

After a child knows their sounds, including the phonograms – you introduce little booklets.  Instead of using booklets, my good friend at Montessori Tidbits, Leann, mentioned this site to me … http://soundcityreading.com/. It’s a bit of a plethora to navigate to get what you want, but the secret to phonograms is found here – under Phonogram booklets

http://soundcityreading.com/scrwebsite7-11-09_024.htm

These are just wonderful, pictures with little stories for each one.  But, some of the sentences were just not right for us …so I made my own.

sample of phonogram

In Word, I went and cut and pasted the pictures I wanted and added text appropriate for the phonograms associated.

Some of the pictures I just used the text the author had, but wanted it in Word to be a consistent font throughout.

I then made them into matching cards, sentence on one card, picture on the other. Of course, coloured-in each picture.  🙂

Sentence strips

On the back of each card, is a matching colour cut-out.  I just used coloured paper and my punches, modge-podge over.

Sentence strip 2

And then, put each phonogram into an envelope with it’s label on the outside.

Phonogram box

I’m so sorry that I can’t give you my files complete – I printed out all the files and then created sentences in Word, which I then matched.  So if you want my sentences, here they are in Word …

phonogram sentences match nonpictures

Then you need to download and print – or cut and paste into my Word document the matching picture.  Because this comes from a site, I cannot give this out due to copywrite.

As mentioned, phonogram booklets here

Now a hint about downloading loads of pdf’s or other documents – in Firefox, I use an extension called ‘DownThemAll’.  It adds a tool to your right-mouse click in Firefox, which will download in one step all the files on the page for you.  No downloading each file at a time!

downloaditall

3 thoughts on “Muriel Dwyer – Sentence strips

  1. This is neat! I did something like this before I went to Montessori training (I only had access to the pink/blue/green materials at the time and could NOT wrap my brain around how they worked).

    With my tutoring children, I started with matching a word to a picture (usually clip art!).

    Then I had two lengths of phrases – one shorter (“a red hat”) and one longer like you have above (such as “a clown with a red hat”) – though I didn’t have a clown – that would have been fun!

    I didn’t make a control, because I thought the built-in control of having something that didn’t match would be enough (in our case, it was!).

    The only drawback I found was that some of my children really needed to read the matching phrase with the picture already there first – and since i’d made my word strips separate from the pictures, I ended up aligning them on the copier and making a second set that way 😉 Then I just separated strips from one another and had the “control”.

    From there, with my tutoring children, they all jumped into Dr. Seuss books! I did have CHC readers which were used off and on as well, when appropriate for extra practice.

    Thank you for sharing your files? Can I link to your post on my blog?

    Like

    1. Hi Jessica,

      What a great comment! Thanks.

      It really is hard to find these cute pictures – that actually tell a short story. So when Leann mentioned them to me, I just couldn’t believe it!

      That’s what I love about the control of error with the little cutouts at the back. If the child cannot read the slips, they can just match them anyway and then try to read. I believe it doesn’t matter how they try, at least they are trying.

      I actually do have pre-phonogram cards – but by the time I introduced them, they were too easy. They are also from soundcity.

      Please sure, link my blog. The more who know the better!
      Trace

      Like

Leave a Reply - it might be moderated if you haven't commented before.

