Individual records

A friend of mine gave me a copy of her daughter’s Montessori Individual records, of all work done in her years of her class.  Her teacher is in her 60’s and has had many years and years of experience.  It is such a privilege to see how she documents her childrens work.

Individ records 0

The records seem to be ordered by plane of development, instead of all sequential.  I really like this, because it gives you a bird-eye view of where your child is at and what should be focused on around this period – for each of the subjects.

Individ records 1

It’s very compact, using just numbers to indicate different phases.  So you will need to flip over to, for instance, the “Metal Inset” section to know the 7 different types of Metal Inset designs.

I found there was loads missing too – but only because I most probably favour other work, or because of interests, or her knowing how much time she has and what to priorotise.  But I’m releasing this original version, so that you can assess this for yourself and work with her original document.

So I will be updating this original – to add things I want.

I do appreciate that there is more than just the standard album work, but also Composers, Music.  This gives me a whole lot of new ideas.

Just to let you know, not each “section” was fully completed before going onto the next section.  I believe she really “followed” the child, instead of strict, “you’ve done this, now do this”.  So there are dates and comments written throughout the document.  The order and categorising I think is more just an indication.  And groups things according to where “round-about” a child is – after many years of just knowing how this all works.

Individ records 2Another great feature, is that it really goes to “just before” elementary age – so you have the more advanced items you find in Grammar and Math.

Here we go download it here – Montessori Individual Record Original

 

4 thoughts on “Individual records

  1. This is nicely organized for sure!

    I too had to take my scope and sequence for both primary and elementary and break them down into “where the child is roughly likely to do together” – so I can pull up my primary work in approximately 6-month chunks and elementary in approximately 1-year chunks; thus giving me a firm backbone on which I can more easily spend time figuring out nuances of the child’s needs that might be just above or just below that area.

    and I think that’s just it – we all need some sort of structure to give us a general idea, but also know and be able to act on the need to follow the child, which may be faster or somewhat slower. And both are wonderful 🙂

    Thank you for sharing!

    Like

    1. Hi Jessica – 6 months is a great idea for chunking the records. If you’d like me to put a link to your document, if it’s part of your free resources, I’d love to add it to my post.

      Thanks so much for responding!

      Like

    1. You are welcome! I’ve added loads of other items to my personal copy – but thought the original was great for a draft for anyone start with and give ideas. Like the blue constructive triangles are missing and I’ve added my extra Muriel Dwyer work, plus all my bells and movement works broken down – so I have 21 pages in mine.

      Like

Leave a Reply - it might be moderated if you haven't commented before.

