A review of LEM phonics and Montessori and how we are doing it. Part 1

Izaac started Year 1 doing half homeschool at our local Christian school, for a day and a half a week. This serves his need to be part of a pack, and not having a hectic out of home experience. His amazing teacher so understands our need for half homeschool to mainly to be for him to have sports and have a community.

But she introduced me to LEM phonics. For spelling, I had bought All About Spelling. But it just didn’t fit with me. So I managed to get the whole LEM curriculum for a swap of my AAS! This includes the awesome whopping book, called, The book of Rules. Plus all Australian English.

Just as a review of  LEM, you work through these sound cards. What I love, love is that it has all these jingles throughout learning your sounds. So if Izaac asks me how to spell something, we’ll say things like, it’s the ‘er’ of father, or “it’s the ea of ‘eat bread or steak'”. So Izaac knows which phonogram to use where.  I don’t need to spell ‘ea’ for the ‘ee’ sound.

Each sound has a number, so for ‘eat bread or steak’, eat is 1, bread is 2, steak is 3. And as we go into the Word Lists, we study words and label phonograms with these numbers.

IMG_0270.JPG

IMG_0271.JPG

So now we have worked through most of our cards and have started our Word List books.

IMG_0268-0.JPG

And our lessons

IMG_0267.JPG

As much as I love this programme, it just takes too much of our time, because it’s set up for a classroom, more than a homeschool. And nowhere near self directed. So I had to think of how to Montessori this programme. I looked at how AAS achieved this. My thoughts were, it had to have self correcting, small chunkable lessons, the kids could do majorly on their own.

Up next, what I’m doing so far. Click here for Part 2

One thought on “A review of LEM phonics and Montessori and how we are doing it. Part 1

Leave a Reply - it might be moderated if you haven't commented before.

