New work journal

There is nothing to get you acting quickly, than an inspection.  We have our homeschool inspection next week.  I had to keep a journal for this week to show the Department.  But I had nothing.

Whatdidwedoallday – my all time favourite inspiration Montessori website posted about her journal and I knew this was exactly what I had to do.

imageSo in a quick afternoon, I examined her journal intently and came up with this Word Document – click here to download this template.

 

 

 

wpid-20141016_103315.jpgThis is a view of both pages – so I needed to print the pages on both sides, to make the open book.

 

 

Here is a detail of each page – very much like Whatdidwedoallday – because our boys are at similar stages.

Journal Page 1

Journal Page 2

So each week, I plan to write the top headers, as I see fit. What I love about this, from just starting to work out what we did all day – I can see the progress we are making. Sometimes I feel so helpless, like “have we done enough??”.  Now I can see that yes, all is going OK.

I also love how I can see where we need to focus, or are missing out, just by the blank sections.

I also love how I can document natural learning, where Izaac teases me he wants 100 pieces of fruit toast when I ask him how many he wants for breakfast.  So you’ll see under “word problems”, I’ve documented that I asked him to work out how many bags of fruit toast he was wanting to eat.  It made 100 pieces seem a lot more real!  He definitely didn’t want that.

Thank you Andrea once again for helping me along our homeschool journey!

If you are wondering what some of the codes mean, we have

LEM – read this post

B2B – Back to basics series.  Read this post.  We are on the multiplication book.  I so need to give a new update on how well this is going.  I just love the strategies.  Read here for a bit more info.

WFS – Write from the Start – read this post.  We’re back to continuing these books as Izaac’s perception still needs loads of work.

MA – Moveable alphabet.  You can see my handmade on in the LEM post above

CW – Copy work

Once again – please click here to download my Word document copy of this work journal that you can edit and change as you wish.

3 thoughts on “New work journal

Leave a Reply - it might be moderated if you haven't commented before.

